Investing in Africa's Future

2015 Tournament

Date : 31 October

Venue : Hillside Golf Club

Format : Individual Stapleford

Tee Off : 1000hours

Prize Giving : 1800 hours
The Africa University Charity Golf Tournament was established in 1998. It is a partnership of Africa University, local business people and professionals, that each year come together for a worthy cause to help the less privileged in society.

  • To help improve the social welfare of the less privileged in registered orphanages in Manicaland our society.
  • To promote African Philanthropy and unite communities to work together towards a worthy cause each year.

Past Beneficiaries

Since its inception in 1998 the AU Charity Golf tournament has provided support to the following: whom the committee saw to be the most needy

  • Sakubva Old People’s Home (Mutare)
  • Fairfield Children’s Home (Old Mutare )
  • Rekai Tangwena Orphanage (Nyanga)
  • R. G. Mugabe Children’s Home (Penhalonga)
  • St David’s Bonda Children’s Home (Nyanga)
  • Manhinga Children’s Home (Rusape)
  • Chitenderano Children’s Home (Rusape)
  • Hotburg Children’s Home (Chipinge)
  • Bakorenhema Children's home (Marange)

Focus for 2015
Bakorenhema children’s Home in Marange will be, for the second time, this year’s beneficiary. This home accommodates 10 children (3 girls and 7 boys) who are between the ages of 6 to 18 years. There is a high possibility of the home receiving more children from the Social Welfare Office as it has a holding capacity of 30. The Home needs assistance with the following items:

  • Basic food stuffs, School fees
  • Blankets, Mattresses
  • Toiletries ,Bath towels, Clothing
  • Funds for the recapitalisation of their poultry project
  • Funds for the resuscitation of their water supply system

Committee Members
Prof M. Furusa (AU Vice-Chancellor &Patron)
Mr. M. Masabeya (Chairman)
Mr. P. Simbanegavi
Mr. W. Chirume
Mr. P. Takaidza
Mrs. A Chivake
Ms. P. Crewe
Mr. D. Bunjira
Mr. J. Dzangare
Mr. M. Nyaundi
Mrs. A .Shingadia
Mrs. H. Samupindi
Mr. K. Shingadia
Mr. M. Chikwana
Mr. M. Chidzere
Mr. T. Ruzvidzo
Mr. R .Hungwa
Mr. D. Chitiyo
Mr. R. Tsunga

Some of the committee members with some of the sponsors for the 2012 tournament